Levels of Hospice Care

Hospice offers four levels of care customized to meet the individual needs of the patient including physical, psychological and emotional needs. The four levels of care are listed below:

Routine Level of Care

This type of hospice care is provided in the patient’s home and includes: assisted living communities, nursing homes, and long-term care facilities.

Hospice General in Patient Care

This type of hospice care is available for those patients experiencing acute or severe pain or symptoms that cannot be managed in the home. This level of care allows for patients to be admitted to a hospice in-patient unit, hospital or a skilled nursing facility until pain and symptoms can be managed (usually three to seven days).

Continuous Care

This level of care is offered to patients during a period of crisis in order to keep them at home. Continuous Care is provided by Nurses and Certified Nursing Assistants to monitor and gain control over the acute symptoms and pain. Other members of the hospice team may participate in patient care during this time.

Respite Care

Respite care is commonly used when the patient’s caregiver(s) would benefit from a break from the day-to-day responsibilities of caring for a patient in a home setting. Specifically, respite care is provided in an approved facility and is generally limited to five (5) consecutive days at any one time. Placement for care is arranged by a Maxcare Hospice team member.


Download our brochure here

Feeling alone is never an option

at Maxcare hospice, we believe in being there for you and your family.

Contact Us